1. Sooner Than Now Mais cedo que agora 4:06

2. The Sweetest Dream O sonho mais doce 3:09

3. How This Night Disappeared Como esta noite desaparecida 4:38
4. Our Little Secret Nosso sogredinho 2:13
5. Welcome Spring Bem-vinda Primavera 3:40
6. Ballad for Claudio Balada para Claudio 4:56
7. Sunrise Samba Sunrise Samba 3:36
8. Our Make-Believe Nosso Make-Believe 3:46
9. Afternoon Shadows Sombras da tarde 3:44
10. She’s Always Beautiful to Me Ela é sempre bonita 3:54
11. Did I Tell You? Eu disse-te? 3:51
12. For More Than This Moment Por mais do que este momento 4:14
13. Never Far from You Nunca longe De Você 3:54
14. Let’s Take a Chance Vamos dar uma chance 2:57

Sorce has received several Meet the Composer grants; he is an ASCAP award winning composer and songwriter and the recipient of the Esteemed Faculty Award from New York University.                    

Sorce has received numerous commissions, has composed music for piano solo, chorus, ensembles and orchestra, written and co-written over 300 songs, and was commissioned to compose a ballet for the celebration of the Constitution Bicentennial performed by the Trenton Symphony Orchestra and the New Jersey Ballet.

His music has been published by G. Schirmer, Theodore Presser, Warner Brothers, Boston Music Co., Excelsior Music, Middle Melody Music, Jackaroe Music and Imagine Music Publishers.

His books, including Music Theory for the Music Professional: A Comparison of Common Practice and Popular Genres, are published by Scarecrow Press/ Rowman and Littlefield. His latest textbooks, Musicianship for the Contemporary Musician, and Pitch Perception through Applied Theory are published by Linus Publishing.  

  • Afternoon Shadows3:43
  • Ballad for Claudio4:55
  • Did I Tell You3:51
  • For More Than This Moment4:13
  • Sunrise Samba3:36


Recordings of his “commercial” songs have been released on Arista Records, Vanguard Records, CBS Records (France), BMG, Quality Records (Canada), Green Pepper (Great Britain), United Performers, and others.   Currently, two of his CDs, “A Place I’ve Never Been,” and “The Sorcerer’s Accomplice,” consisting of all original Latin-Jazz works, are receiving substantial recognition through radio play, radio and T.V. interviews and written reviews. 

Sorce's album, "Samba para a Vida," has received multiple reviews, and has been played on numerous radio stations internationally. The first track, "Escrito No Vento," won Best Brazilian Song of 2017 on The sounds of Brazil Radio. This album, along with two previous albums, is published by HD Music Now, Inc. "Bossambal Brazil," 2021, is also published by HD Music Now, inc., and is distributed by APM/EMI.

Richard Sorce - “Bossambal Brazil”

 The Richard Sorce Project

The Richard Sorce Project appears on EverJazz Records. Just released on 1/1/2021: the new album, "Bossambal Brazil," consisting of 14 original tracks with 11 musicians. Available on all major sites, e.g., Amazon, et. al., and featured on Connect Brazil and JazzNet247.

On the new CD (2017), "Samba Para a Vida," which follows "A Place I've Never Been," and "Closer Than Before," are fifteen tracks, seven of which are sung in Portuguese and performed by a nine-piece group. Click on Audio to hear selections from the CD: Cante (Sing), Antes De Te Conhecer (Before I Knew You) and Once More.

“Bossambal Brazil” is an album of 14 original bossa novas, sambas and ballads, and follows three previous albums: “A Place I’ve Never Been”(2014), “Closer Than Before” (2016) and “Samba para a Vida” (2017).“The Sorcerer’s Accomplice,” featuring my work, was recorded byguitarist, Russ DeFilippis in 2016. Virtually all the tracks on thesealbums are published by HD Music Now and are internationally distributed.

Richard Sorce - Composer, Pianist and Arranger

Richard Sorce is a published author, composer and Billboard charted songwriter, arranger and producer, and has been on the faculty at Ramapo College and William Paterson University since 1999. Prior to his current positions he was on the faculty at New York University from 1980-1996 as professor of theory, aural skills, and composition and director of the music theory program.  

He holds a Ph.D. in music theory and composition from New York University, an M.A. from NYU in theory, composition and higher education, and did undergraduate study at the Manhattan School of Music and the New York College of Music, as well as piano study at the Shenandoah Conservatory of Music.        

    Latin Jazz & More

Special thanks to my wife and associate producer, Barbara, my “3rd” ear,in selecting the tracks from my catalog for this album, and for her innateability to hear the most subtle and questionable inclusions, or exclusions, during the recording and mixing sessions.

 With the voice considered an instrument, which it is, Bossambal Brazilis primarily an instrumental album. It contains several tracks thatincorporate vocalise. Vocalise is not considered background vocals inthe strictest sense; it is the vocal doubling of melodic lines played by
another lead instrument or lead instruments, as well as accompanyingeffects in other areas, and on these tracks, most often in three-partharmony.

 And finally, track six, “Ballad For Claudio,” was written for ClaudioRoditi who, unfortunately, left us in 2020. We had planned to do severaltracks on this album, but that wasn’t to be. For those who knew Claudio, all can agree that he was one of the finest musicians--as jazz trumpeter,
Brazilian Jazz performer and composer.


Richard Sorce: Composer, Arranger, Pianist, Strings Don Guinta: Drums Sue Williams: Bass Rob Reich: Guitar
Dave Yee: Percussion Mark Friedman: Alto Sax, Flute, Alto Flute Vinnie Cutro: Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Brian Bonvissuto: Trombone Lisa Kachajian: Vocalise, Vocalise Arrangments
Iara Negrete: Vocalise, Vocalise Arrangements Anthony Arellano: Vocalise Richard Sorce-Producer
Barbara Norris Sorce: Associate Producer and Album ArtRobert Melosh: Recording, Mixing and Mastering Engineer Recorded, Mixed and Mastered at R.E.M. Studios, NJ,Robert Melosh, Owner