​​ Aji Picante Radio  

    Latin Jazz  & More 

  • Stolen Moments7:16

Calle Loíza Jazz Project: There Will Never Be Another You

The famous street in Santurce, Puerto Rico, named Calle Loíza, has a long and colorful history as a center of culture and artistic creativity. Historically, in the late 1800s, it was an important and heavily traveled section of the road passing through Santurce for laborers from the town of Loíza en route to San Juan.

The Bomba rhythms are also known to have origins near Calle Loíza among other areas in Puerto Rico, most notably the town of Loíza. More recently, Calle Loíza is known for being a place that has provided a vibrant, rich cultural background for musicians such as the famous salsa singer Ismael Rivera who was raised in the neighborhoods around Calle Loíza.

It has a special significance for the members of this group, Calle Loíza Jazz Project. Starting in the late 1970s with the famous jazz club on Calle Loíza, Mini’s, it provided a place for well-known jazz musicians to come and “sit-in” on jam sessions there with drummer Jimmy Rivera, pianist Paul Neves, and saxophonist Hector Veneros.

Years later, just a few blocks away, a club opened around 1990 on Calle Loíza called the Apple Jazz Club. It was there that pianist Mark Montes de Oca, Jimmy Rivera, bassist Freddy Gumbs, and leader Héctor Veneros, formed a quartet that became well known in Puerto Rico and performed in the Heineken Jazz Festival in 1993.

It was also there that bassist Tony Batista had played regularly and guitarist Andre Avelino would frequently come and “sit-in” to perform with members of the quartet. It was during those years, in this rich musical setting that the core group of musicians on this recording met each other, became lifelong friends and started performing with each other for many years in the future.

Tracks list – Seven Steps To Heaven; Some Day My Prince Will Come; Stolen Moments; Dolphin Dance; Old Folks; In Your Own Sweet Way; Well You Needn’t; There Will Never Be Another You

Personnel – Iván Belvis: sound engineer, percussion; Tony Batista: bass; Xavier Barreto: flute; André Avelino: guitar; Cándido Reyes: güiro; Mark Monts De Oca: piano; Jimmy Rivera: drums; Reinel López: brazilian percussion; Melvin Jones, Gordon Vernick: trumpet; Javier Oquendo: congas